Prayer

20140302-171650.jpg

 

The subject of prayer and Bible study is very personal to a lot of people. Not only whether they do or not, but also how and why. One of the goals I made at the beginning of the year was to study my Torah daily and faithfully. With the exception of a few days, I have managed to stick with that goal two whole months now and am almost finished with the first five books of the Bible.

When I began my journey I searched online for study guides and tips. Thanks to trusty Pinterest, I discovered two methods that appealed to me. The colored pencil method and the SOAP method. The colored pencil method involves marking key words in your reading with various colors, shapes and symbols. I may try it next year for my next read through but since I was just beginning, I had a feeling that it wasn’t something I would stick with until my resolution became second nature.

The SOAP method grabbed my attention because of it’s similarity to medical write ups. (Think Subjective, Objective, Assessment and Plan) Instead of focusing on keywords, this method allows me to focus on passages I come across that stand out to me.

S=Scripture: This is any meaningful passage you come across in your reading.

O=Observations: What is God saying in this passage? What do you learn from it?

A=Application: How can you make this passage personal and apply it to your life?

P=Prayer: Write out a prayer to the Lord asking for help with the application of the passage, to reveal more about the passage, help with the understanding of the passage, etc.

I’m always on the look out for new study methods. What methods do you use?

Leave a Reply

